Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Helpamumout
Casual Contributor

How do i help

Hi all, im new to this space but would love some advice or words of wisdom. My nearly 22 year old daughter has always struggled with anxiety and depression. I always sort help for her and tried to keep on top of it when the beast would flare up. She now lives independantly but is stuggling on a daily basis with it. We have had a lot of melt downs, manic episodes and everything in between in the last 15 months she has been living out of home. It seems when she hits her lows she reaches out for help and is active in making doctors appointments and will attend but then her mood elevates and she says she is good now and doesnt need help. This is a viscous cycle that is ongoing. I have done a lot of research and feel that she is on the verge of being bipolar or having BPD. She [is self-harming] and known to take other recreational drugs. I am so scared for her and dont know how to help other than what im doing. Any advice would be greatly recieved.

[edited by moderator]

6 REPLIES 6
Jynx
Peer Support Worker

Re: How do i help

Hey @Helpamumout welcome to the forums, I'm glad you found us. I'm sorry to hear about the struggles your daughter is facing, and how challenging it has been for you. It can be so confusing, distressing, and downright anxiety-provoking to witness a loved one go through this sort of stuff.