Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Vimes
Casual Contributor

I thought I could get through this without a problem, but...

When the lockdown was declared back in March, I thought to myself 'I can get through this'. After all, social anxiety is one of my difficulties (not my only one, I've also been diagnosed with, but not limited to, clinical depression, general anxiety, PTSD, and OCD as well as Aspergers at one stage, but that's another story altogether) so I figured that seeing I generally spend most of my days alone with little or no human contact, I should get through this okay, seeing it wouldn't be much different to how I usually spend my days.

I'm a writer, poet and blogger, and I felt that seeing I've been working on a novel for the last couple of years this would be an ideal time to finish it whilst I was 'following orders' to stay at home. I also do a lot of photography; it would also be a good opportunity to sort through the thousands of shots I've taken and discard or edit a few. This was on top of the dozens of books I have lying about that I haven't read, podcasts that I hadn't listened to, and the hundreds of DVDs that I could (re)watch.

But I'm also a gamer (tabletop, board and PC). Unfortunately it's too easy (for me) to just switch on the PC and just while away my time in someone else's world rather than working on the one I'm creating. Some days I really have no self-control.