Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

Rosalyn
New Contributor

Dealing with Diagnosis

Hi there,

I just started here so I don't expect anyone to interact with this, I just really needed a safe vent, but if you have a similar experience please share I am very new to this. I'm 18 and I just got diagnosed with a chronic heart disease and I really don't know what to do. The medical bills are piling in and the cheaper medication options don't work for me. I have no idea how I'm going to move forward as all my future plans have been thrown off by this. There is no cure and it just keeps getting more expensive to try and get under control. I'm still grappling with the fact that I may not live long enough to retire and I don't even know if I'll be able to start a family anymore. This has wrecked me and I have no idea what I'm doing anymore. A couple of months ago I could've told you exactly what I wanted and where I wanted to go but I don't know if I can even take on the career I wanted. I just wish I was normal again.

2 REPLIES 2

Re: Dealing with Diagnosis

Hi @Rosalyn 

So sorry to hear about your recent diagnosis. 

I'm going through a shakeup in my life too, that has me questioning everything; past, present and future. It's the sort of time when you are desperately grappling for answers and direction, when there are none.

I feel like using supports as needed and understanding that time will help smooth things out and provide some kind of a path, is the only broad answer we can take during these turbulent times.

Stay in contact with us on the forums and be kind to yourself.  

Re: Dealing with Diagnosis

Hi @Rosalyn